April 29, 2010

Sa Malamig – Iced Cantaloupe Drink

Posted in beverage, budget friendly, easy!, family favorite, Filipino, kid-friendly at 12:51 pm by Maryann

“Sa Malamig” in Tagalog, the main dialect of the Philippines, is “the cold”.  Obviously it is not cold in the Philippines but this drink sure does cool you down especially on a hot summer day.  In the Philippines it is sold in stores as well as by the local street vendors.

This is a recipe I acquired from my mother-in-law.  I remember watching her make this drink and thinking, “what in the world is she doing.”  She was equally surprise that I had never had it before.  I learned soon there after that my husband LOVES this drink so I better learn how to make it.

Iced Cantaloupe Drink
adapted from Mother-In-Law & MM Del Rosario on HubPages
Serves 6

1 medium cantaloupe
1 cup of simple syrup (recipe below)
water

Simple Syrup Recipe
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup water

Pour the water and sugar into a small saucepan, turn heat to high.  Once the water boils, turn heat down to low and simmer until sugar completely dissolves, stir occasionally.  Once sugar is dissolved, turn off heat and let cool.

tool needed: melon scraper (available at many Asian markets)

Cut the cantaloupe in half and remove seeds.  Using a melon scraper, scrap the inside of the melon.  The scraper causes the meat of the melon through the holes creating “noodles.”  Pour all of the “noodles” into a pitcher.

Repeat process on the other half of the melon.  Pour the cooled simple syrup over the cantaloupe “noodles”.  Then pour enough water to fill the pitcher.  Mix with a large spoon to combine water and simple syrup.  Serve in a tall glass with crushed ice and a spoon.

Printer Friendly Recipe


Family Review:  A+

I apologize for no Sa Malamig in a glass picture.  I prepared it super late and put it in the fridge for the next day.  When I realized I needed to take a picture of the finished product, it was all gone.  Less than 24 hours after I made it there wasn’t a drop in sight.  So, the family review is a given.  Obviously, if it didn’t last 24 hours it’s a major hit in our house.  I’ve been making this recipe for as long as I’ve been married just like our other Top 10 most frequented recipes.

I will surely make Sa Malamig all summer long.  I hope you go on a hunt for a melon scraper (I asked my mother-in-law to find me one years ago) and make Sa Malamig.  I’m sure you will enjoy it so much that it won’t make it to your kitchen table.

3 Comments »

  1. Lynne said,

    omg, i love this drink! never knew it was a filipino drink, lol. so i didn’t know how to look up recipes for it and my guesses were nowhere near successful XD – i’m going to pick up cantaloupe on the next grocery trip!

  2. connie said,

    very easy to make. I know for a fact that the girls really love this drink when I make it and it cost less than the smootie.

  3. Chris said,

    We made 2 pitchers of this drink las Sunday. It’s now Tuesday and almost completely gone. Such a refreshing beverage to enjoy especially on a hot day.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

