March 7, 2012

Pizza, Pizza, Pizza!

Posted in Beef, budget friendly, Chicken, easy!, family favorite, Freezer Meal, Italian, kid-friendly, Main Dish, make ahead, OAMC, Pork, snack, Vegetable, Vegetarian tagged , , , , , , , , , , at 4:36 pm by Maryann


My girls LOVE pizza! The funny thing is that they only love to eat cheese pizza when we order from our favorite pizzeria. I have always wanted to make my own pizza at home but the crust was my issue. I hated the ready-made pizza crust growing up because they tasted like cardboard. In my adult years, I’ve also FAILED, majorly, at making my own pizza crust. So pizza really wasn’t something I thought would be a family favorite EASY meal. Well I was WRONG. Last year my best friend introduced me to a super easy way to make pizza at home using naan bread, an Indian flatbread. Now isn’t that idea just plain genius!

The greatest thing about Pizza Night is that it involves the entire family. I love family time especially when it comes to food. I love sparking the love of cooking especially in young minds. So during family menu planning (YES it’s a family event) I ask them what they want for dinner and what they want on their pizza.

The only rules (yes there’s even rules) for Pizza Night was:

    1. You must have at least ONE vegetable on your pizza
    2. Only put as many ingredients you can eat

Our pizza sauce is usually pesto because I already have pesto for our pesto sandwiches. Although I have made a white sauce and a simple tomato sauce.

Naan Bread Pizza
naan bread (check your meat section or bakery)
our favorite – garlic flavored

your favorite pizza sauce
our favorites

your favorite toppings
our favorites
    • broccoli
    • Italian sausage
    • fresh spinach
    • green olives
    • kalamata olives
    • zucchini
    • ham
    • pineapple
your favorite pizza cheese
our favorites
    • Parmesan cheese
    • mozzarella cheese
    • feta cheese
Preheat oven to 415 degrees. Line a baking sheet with foil.
Place naan bread on baking sheet. Top naan bread with pesto (or any of your favorite sauces).
Top sauce with your favorite toppings and cheeses.Bake for 15 minutes or until bread is crunch and cheese is bubbly. Remove from oven and let cool for 1-2 minutes. Slice in squares and enjoy!Printer Friendly Recipe

FAMILY REVIEW: A+++
We make this at least twice a month! It’s always so much fun because the kids decide what’s on their pizzas. Obviously from the picture above, there are more than one vegetable on their pizza. I really think it’s a great way to introduce vegetables especially if they’re allow to choose what they want AND cover them with cheese!

FREEZER MEAL IDEA!

I always have leftover ingredients so this week decided to utilize them and make freezer meals! I bought bagels and english muffins at Fresh & Easy 50% off because of their sell by date. I also bought a French Bread loaf for $0.98, their everyday price! So I made English Muffin pizzas and French Bread pizzas then froze them for days when we are craving for pizza.
English Muffin Pizzas
After I prepped the pizzas I flash freeze them until they’re hard, about 2 hours. Then I individually wrapped them in foil and place them in a freezer bag.
French Bread Pizzas
Similarly to the English muffin pizzas, I flash freeze them on a cookie sheet then wrapped them in foil. These won’t fit in freezer storage bags. So I wrapped each French Bread in freezer paper.

Are your craving pizza? Don’t order in! Make it yourself because no matter what you use (naan bread, english muffins, or french bread), everyone will be all smiles and super full at your kitchen table.

2 Comments »

  1. […] Naan Bread Pizzas- 4 servings […]

  2. […] Wednesday: Naan Bread Pizzas […]


Leave a comment